Welcome to the web presence of MusicTrace
 


Top News:

Airplay charts compiled by MusicTrace now available on radiocharts.com
radiocharts.com

Audio Watermarking

General

With the aid of audio watermarking technology it is possible to embed additional information in an audio track. To achieve this, the audio signal of a music recording, an audio book or a commercial is slightly modified in a defined manner. This modification is so slight that the human ear cannot perceive an acoustic difference. Audio watermarking technology thus affords an opportunity to generate copies of a recording which are perceived by listeners as identical to the original but which may differ from one another on the basis of the embedded information.

Only software which embodies an understanding of the type of embedding and embedding parameters is capable of extracting such additional data that were embedded previously. Without such software or if incorrect embedding parameters were selected it is not possible to access these additional data. This prevents unauthorized extraction of embedded information and makes the technique very reliable.

This characteristic is utilized by MusicTrace in a targeted manner. Every MusicTrace customer receives a unique set of embedding parameters. Consequently, each customer is only capable of extracting that information which he embedded himself. Accessing embedded information of other customers, by contrast, is not possible.

In addition to the inaudibility of the watermark and process security, two other factors play an important role. The first of these is the data rate of the watermark, i.e., an indication of the volume of data which can be transmitted in a given period of time. The other is the robustness of the watermark. Robustness is an indication how reliably a watermark can be extracted after an intentional attack or after transmission and the inherent signal modifications. The watermarking process implemented by MusicTrace was investigated by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) in terms of robustness. Forms of attack investigated included analog conversion of the signal, digital audio coding or repeated filtering of the signal. This revealed that the watermark can no longer be extracted only when the quality of the audio signal has been substantially degraded as a result of the attack.

The factors data rate and robustness are mutually dependent. If more inaudible information are to be transmitted in a certain time the robustness of the watermark declines as a consequence. For embedding additional data, MusicTrace utilizes data containers that permit an acceptably high data rate and robustness. The two most commonly used data containers permit transmission of 48-bit additional data in 5 seconds with a very high robustness or 48-bit additional data in 2.7 seconds with slightly lower robustness.

Fields of Application

Because audio watermark technology in principle opens the possibility for transmitting embedded additional data in the audio track but imposes no restrictions in terms of the type of additional data, this technology has a broad range of potential applications. A few typical scenarios for audio watermarking are briefly sketched in the following.

  • Embedding of Copyright Information: During production, copyright information in the form of a watermark can be anchored directly in the recording. This makes it possible to check at a later time whether a competitor, for example, has taken samples of music played on a valuable instrument and used them in his product without permission. With the aid of the watermark, it is also possible to provide copyright verification in the event that a competitor claims he produced a given title.

  • Embedding of Recipient Information: It can also be expedient to utilize audio watermarking of promotional recordings provided to radio stations or the press or when music tracks or audio books are sold by an Internet shop. Here the idea is to personalize every recording distributed. In such cases information is embedded as a watermark that can be used at a later time to monitor recipients. This can be the recipient's customer number, for example. If these recordings are found later on the Internet, the embedded data can be used to identify the person to whom the recorded material was originally distributed.

    The advantage of the watermarking technique over the Digital Rights Management (DRM) technique is that the original multimedia format is not changed by the watermark. To illustrate this, if a watermark is embedded in an MP3 file, the result is an MP3 file that can be played on any commercially-available MP3 player. It is therefore not necessary for customers to purchase special playback devices. Furthermore, the watermark remains in the recording even in the event of format conversion, even if the material undergoes analog conversion.

  • Embedding of Title Information: The audio watermarking technique can in principle also be implemented for monitoring radio broadcasts. To do this, each title that is to be monitored must be provided with a unique identifier in the form of a watermark. A computer subsequently scans radio programs and investigates the signal for watermarking. Even though the audio fingerprinting technique is usually implemented to perform this task there are cases in which the audio watermarking technique offers certain advantages. This is the case, for example, when specific television commercials are to be monitored that have various video tracks but an identical audio track.

Top top         Back back

Willkommen auf den Webseiten von MusicTrace
 


Top News:

Airplay Charts ermittelt durch MusicTrace jetzt auf radiocharts.com verfügbar
radiocharts.com

Audio-Watermarking

Allgemeines

Mit Hilfe der Audio-Wasserzeichen Technologie ist es möglich, Zusatzdaten in der Tonspur zu verstecken. Zu diesem Zweck wird das Audiosignal des Musikstücks, des Hörbuchs oder des Werbespots geringfügig auf eine definierte Art und Weise modifiziert. Diese Änderung ist so klein, dass der Mensch akustisch keinen Unterschied wahrnimmt. Die Audio-Wasserzeichen Technologie eröffnet also die Möglichkeit, Kopien eines Titels zu erstellen, die für den Menschen alle identisch mit dem Original sind, die sich aber anhand der eingebrachten Information unterscheiden lassen.

Nur eine Software, die das Wissen über die Art der Einbettung und die Einbettungsparameter in sich trägt, ist in der Lage, die zuvor eingebetteten Zusatzdaten wieder auszulesen. Ohne diese Software oder auch nur bei Wahl der falschen Einbettungsparameter ist kein Zugriff auf die Zusatzdaten möglich. Dies verhindert ein unbefugtes Auslesen der eingebetteten Information und macht das Verfahren sehr sicher.

Diese Eigenschaft wird durch MusicTrace gezielt ausgenutzt. Jeder Kunde von MusicTrace erhält einen eigenen Satz von Einbettungsparameter. Als Folge kann jeder Kunde nur diejenige Information wieder auslesen, die er auch selbst eingebracht hat. Ein Zugriff auf die eingebetteten Informationen anderer Kunden ist dagegen nicht möglich.

Neben der Nicht-Hörbarkeit des Wasserzeichens und der Sicherheit spielen noch zwei weitere Faktoren eine wichtige Rolle. Dies ist zum einen die Datenrate des Wasserzeichens, also eine Aussage darüber, wie viele Daten in einer bestimmten Zeit übertragen werden können. Zum anderen ist dies die Robustheit des Wasserzeichens. Die Robustheit ist ein Maß dafür, wie zuverlässig ein Wasserzeichen nach einem beabsichtigten Angriff, aber auch nach einer Übertragung mit den damit verbundenen Signalmodifikationen wieder auslesbar sind. Das von MusicTrace eingesetzte Wasserzeichenverfahren wurde von der European Broadcasting Union (EBU) auf seine Robustheit hin untersucht. Als Angriffe wurden unter anderem eine Analogwandlung des Signals, eine digitale Audiokodierung oder auch mehrere Filterungen des Signals durchgeführt. Das Ergebnis war, dass das Wasserzeichen erst dann nicht mehr auslesbar ist, wenn die Audioqualität aufgrund des Angriffs bereits merklich gesunken ist.

Die Faktoren Datenrate und Robustheit stehen in einer Wechselbeziehung. Sollen mehr Informationen in einer bestimmten Zeit unhörbar übertragen werden, sinkt als Folge die Robustheit des Wasserzeichens. MusicTrace verwendet zur Einbettung der Zusatzdaten Datencontainer, die eine bestimmte Datenrate und Robustheit erlauben. Die beiden gebräuchlichsten Datencontainer ermöglichen die Übertragung von 48 bit Zusatzdaten in 5 Sekunden bei sehr hoher Robustheit oder 48 bit Zusatzdaten in 2,7 Sekunden bei geringfügig niedrigerer Robustheit.

Anwendungsgebiete

Da die Audio-Wasserzeichen Technologie prinzipiell nur die Möglichkeit eröffnet, innerhalb der Tonspur Zusatzdaten versteckt zu übertragen, aber keine Einschränkungen hinsichtlich der Art der Zusatzdaten macht, erschließt sich für diese Technologie ein breites Feld an Anwendungen. Im Folgenden seien ein paar typische Szenarien für Audio-Wasserzeichen genannt.

  • Einbetten von Urheberinformationen: Während der Produktion kann Urheberinformation in Form eines Wasserzeichens direkt in dem Titel verankert werden. Dies ermöglicht zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt die Überprüfung, ob ein Konkurrent beispielsweise die Samples eines wertvollen Instruments unerlaubterweise ebenfalls in seinem Produkt einsetzt. Auch kann mit Hilfe des Wasserzeichens ein Urhebernachweis geführt werden, falls ein Mitbewerber behauptet, dass der Titel von ihm produziert wurde.

  • Einbetten von Empfängerinformationen: Im Rahmen einer Vorbemusterung an Sendeanstalten oder die Presse oder während des Verkaufs von Musikstücken oder Hörbüchern in einem Internet Shop können Audio-Wasserzeichen ebenfalls sinnvoll eingesetzt werden. Die Idee hierbei ist, jeden verteilten Titel zu personalifizieren. Es werden also Informationen als Wasserzeichen eingebettet, die später einen Rückschluss auf den Empfänger der Titel erlauben. Dies kann beispielsweise die Kundennummer des Empfängers sein. Werden die Titel anschließend im Internet wieder gefunden, kann mit Hilfe der eingebetteten Daten die Person identifiziert werden, an die dieser Titel ursprünglich verteilt worden ist.

    Der Vorteil der Wasserzeichenverfahren gegenüber Digital Rights Management (DRM) Verfahren ist, dass durch das Wasserzeichen das ursprüngliche Multimediaformat nicht verändert wird. Wird beispielsweise ein Wasserzeichen in eine MP3 Datei eingebracht, ist das Resultat wieder eine MP3 Datei, die von jedem handelsüblichen MP3 Wiedergabegerät abgespielt wird. Der Neukauf von speziellen Wiedergabegeräten ist für die Kunden also nicht nötig. Außerdem bleibt das Wasserzeichen auch bei Formatkonversionen in dem Titel erhalten, insbesondere auch bei einer Analogwandlung.

  • Einbetten von Titelinformationen: Das Audio-Wasserzeichen Verfahren kann prinzipiell auch für die Rundfunküberwachung eingesetzt werden. Zu diesem Zweck muss jeder Titel, der beobachtet werden soll, während der Produktion mit einer besonderen Kennziffer in Form eines Wasserzeichens versehen werden. Ein Computer hört anschließend die Rundfunkprogramme ab und untersucht das Signal auf ein Wasserzeichen. Auch wenn für diese Aufgabe üblicherweise das Audio-Fingerprinting Verfahren herangezogen wird, gibt es Fälle, in denen das Audio-Wasserzeichen Verfahren bestimmte Vorteile bietet. Dies ist zum Beispiel der Fall, wenn bestimmte Fernseh-Werbespots beobachtet werden sollen, die zwar eine unterschiedliche Videospur, aber eine identische Audiospur besitzen.

Nach Oben nach oben         Zurück zurück